Exclusive Briefing with Vice President of the IPCC

28 October 2015


 The second COP21-CPN briefing will take place on Friday 30 October at 14:30 GMT (10:30am in NYC, 14:30 in London, 15:30 in Berlin and 22:30 in Hong Kong). The guest speakers will be Valérie Masson-Delmotte, the newly elected Vice-President of the Intergovernmental Panel On Climate Change (IPCC) and Hervé Le Treut, climatologist, Director of the Pierre-Simon Laplace Institute and member of the Academy of Sciences and the IPCC. The IPCC a world-renowned scientific intergovernmental body under the supervision of the United Nations that was set up at the request of member governments. Valérie Masson-Delmotte and Hervé Le Treut will be interviewed by Marina Bertsch, environment journalist at France24.


The hangout will be live immediately following the release of a synthesis by the Secretariat of the UNFCCC (United Nations Framework Convention of Climate Change) summarising the Intended Nationally Determined Contributions (INDC) submitted by more than 150 countries. The INDCs are national climate action plans which have been submitted by governments and which will largely contribute to achieve an ambitious 2015 agreement at the COP21 United Nations Climate Change Conference in Paris in December. Valérie Masson-Delmotte and Hervé Le Treut will discuss how realistic a low-carbon, climate-resilient future is for the planet and whether INDCs submitted to the UN will be enough to limit global warming to below the 2 degree danger zone.

Click Here for the Hangout

Access to the hangout is direct; no registration is required. The goal is to give an update on the latest negotiations before the Paris conference (30 November – 11 December 2015).