Data Journalism Awards

Welcome to the DJA!

The Data Journalism Awards are the first international awards recognising outstanding work in the field of data journalism worldwide.

The 2016 edition ended last june and a new season of the DJA will be launched this fall.

Started in 2012, the competition is organised by the Global Editors Network, with support from the Google News Lab and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation. Previous winning organisations include The New York Times, The Guardian, ProPublica and La Nación.

The prizes for the last DJA competition were worth 1,000€ each and were awarded at a special ceremony at the Vienna City Hall during the sixth annual GEN Summit on 16 June 2016.

Simon Rogers, Data Editor at Google, is the director of the DJA competition which takes place under the presidency of Paul Steiger, Executive Chairman of ProPublica's board of directors.

Submissions for the Data Journalism Awards 2017 competition will open this fall, so stay tuned!

"Data Journalism and Virtual Reality": A Slack group discussion with Simon Rogers, DJA Director and Data Editor at Google News Lab

Wednesday 14 September 2016 from 11:30am to 12:30pm PDT

Screen Shot 2016-09-06 At 18.21.53In anticipation of the sixth season of the Data Journalism Awards launching this fall, we are setting up a series of discussions on the new DJA Slack team.

The first one will take place on 14 September 2016 from 11:30am to 12:30pm PDT. The theme will be "Data Journalism and Virtual Reality" and how to make data journalism more immersive for its readers. 

As a participant you will be able to meet and chat with our special guest Simon Rogers, Data Editor at Google News Lab and Director of the DJA competition.

All you need to do to RSVP and join the DJA Slack community is fill this Google Form.

If you have any questions, email Marianne Bouchart, Manager of the DJA competition at mbouchart@globaleditorsnetwork.org

The winners of the DJA 2016 competition were announced during a special ceremony and gala dinner on 16 June 2016 at the Vienna City Hall, Austria

Follow our live coverage on Twitter!

Re-watch the ceremony live stream:


The winners of the DJA 2016 competition pose for a picture with members of the jury and GEN staff after the 16 June ceremony and gala dinner in Vienna. Photograph by Mario Hanousek.

The Winners of the DJA 2016 are...

DJA 2016 in Graphics


Supported by:

Logo _lockup _news _lab _stacked _large

Google’s mission is to organise the world’s information and make it universally accessible and useful. Google has packed a lot into a relatively young life. Since Google was founded in 1998, the company has grown to serve hundreds of thousands of users and customers around the world.

Knight Transparent

Journalism & Media Innovation: Knight Foundation aims to help sustain democracy by leading journalism to its best possible future in the 21st century. The foundation focuses on funding Media Innovation, Journalistic Excellence, Freedom of Expression.


Datawrapper Logo White

An open source data visualization platform helping everyone to create simple, correct and embeddable charts in minutes.

The DJA Newsletter

Receive all the latest news on data journalism and info on the Data Journalism Awards 2016 from GEN's bi-monthly DJA newsletter curated by data journalism expert, Marianne Bouchart.

DJA Newsletter

Sign up to Data Journalism Awards updates newsletter.